Nederlands Engels
Facebook Twitter RSS

About Fulbright Center

The Fulbright Center is a bi-national, non-profit organization established by international agreement between the United States of America and the Kingdom of The Netherlands. It promotes educational cooperation by administering educational exchange programs between the two countries, such as the Fulbright Program, and provides information on study, research and internships in the United States.

Board and staff of the Fulbright Center

Honorary Co-Chairmen:
Mr. drs. I.K. (Ingrid) VAN ENGELSHOVEN, Minister of Education, Culture and Science
Mr. Peter HOEKSTRA, Ambassador of the United States of America, The Hague

Executive Committee

  • Mr. Anton PIJPERS, Chairman of the Board of Utrecht University (Chair)
  • Ms. Jill ADLER, J.D., Director, East-West Parliamentary Practice Project (EWPPP), adjunct Professor, Webster University (Vice-Chair)
  • Mr. Jan PETIT, Director / Owner Profonte, (Treasurer)
  • Mr. Adrian J. PRATT, Deputy Public Affairs Attaché, U.S. Embassy The Hague (Alternate Treasurer)

Other members of the Board

  • Dr. Paul BROHOLM, Director of Investments, Theodoor Gilissen Bank, Amsterdam
  • Mr. Volkert DOEKSEN, Senior Adviser to the Carlyle Group, The Hague
  • Dr. Jan Willem GUNNING, Emeritus Professor of Development Economics, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
  • Dr. James KENNEDY, Dean University College Utrecht, Utrecht
  • Ms. Hollis KURMAN, Chairperson Ivy Circle NL, Writer, Moderator, Strategy Advisor, Amsterdam
  • Dr. Ruth OLDENZIEL, Professor Eindhoven University of Technology American-European History of Technology, Chair John Adams Institute, Amsterdam


Ms. Mattie Bekink, Executive Director
Mattie J. Bekink is the Executive Director of the Fulbright Center. She has been President of Martha J. Bekink Consulting since 2011, where her work has focused on rule of law and human rights issues, education, communications and institutional strategy, and China strategy. She has worked with New York University since 2011, most recently handling public affairs for the university’s global sites and programs. From 2015 – 2017, Mattie worked with the Anne Frank House on international education programming and development. Prior to establishing her consultancy, Mattie was the Deputy Country Director of the American Bar Association’s Rule of Law Initiative China Program. She has also worked as an associate at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP and as policy associate at the Center for American Progress. Mattie has a B.A. in International Relations from Stanford University and a J.D. from Georgetown University Law Center.

Ms. Rose Bishop, Program Officer Teacher Programs

Ms. Fabienne van den Bor, Deputy Director and Educational Adviser
Fabienne joined the Fulbright Center in 2002 and began her career as the Campus Program Coordinator. In 2013, she was appointed Educational Adviser at the Fulbright Center. As of 2018, she also works on strategy and special projects. Fabienne is an alumna of the Campus Scholarship Program through which she studied at the University of Kansas in Lawrence. She studied European Studies at the University of Amsterdam and returned to the University of Kansas to study Public Relations and Mass Communication. She is a member of various professional associations such as NAFSA, EAIE and IACAC.

Ms. Esther Fris, Program Assistant

Ms. Marion Haring, Financial Administrator

Ms. Manon Kolsteren, Campus Scholarship Program Coordinator and Educational Adviser
Manon started working as Program Officer on March 1, 2016, but she joined the Fulbright Center in 2013 as an intern, after receiving her Master's degree in Media Studies at the University of Amsterdam. During her bachelor's program at the University of Groningen in American Studies, she took part in an exchange program with the College of Charleston in Charleston, South Carolina and did her Master's research in New Orleans. She lived in Florida and North Dakota. During her internship period at the Fulbright Center, she co-organized the celebration of 65 years of Fulbright Program in the Netherlands (June 2015) and published a book with interviews with alumni under the title 'In Amerika heb ik ruim leren denken' ("In America I've learn how to think broadly"). She has worked as a Test Center Administrator at the Fulbright Center since April 2014. As a Program Coordinator, she is responsible for the Campus Scholarship Program and the Teacher's Group Exchange. She also works as Educational Adviser, since 2018. She is a member of IACAC.

Ms. Linda Pietersen, Fulbright Program Director
Linda joined the Netherlands America Commission for Educational Exchange (now known as the Fulbright Center) in 2000. Linda is responsible for directing the Fulbright Program for which she receives many applicants from both Dutch and American students and professors. Linda handles the recruitment and selection of the grantees, and prepares them for their departure to the U.S. or to the Netherlands. Linda majored in European Studies at the University of Amsterdam and consequently worked as a Program Coordinator at the University of Amsterdam for the European Postgraduate Course in Environmental Management.

Ms. Ramona Saya, Program Officer J-1 Internship Visa Program
Ramona joined the Fulbright Center in 2006. She studied International Business and Management Studies at The Hague University, and worked as an assistant supervisor at a large retail chain. She is in charge of the visa internship program. She also helps support the Fulbright Program.




Visiting address and mail address

Westerdoksdijk 215
1013 AD Amsterdam
The Netherlands

Phone: +31.20.5315930
Fax: +31.20.6207269

Legal status

The Netherlands America Commission for Educational Exchange, the official name of the Fulbright Center, is a special legal entity, created by an international agreement between two states, the United States of America and the Kingdom of The Netherlands. Although the organization operates under Dutch law, it is not subject to some of the regulations other (semi-)public bodies are subject to, such as the Algemene Wet Bestuursrecht (the law that governs the functioning of public bodies in The Netherlands). As a legal entity, it is allowed to receive and disburse monies, hire and fire personnel and perform all other legal actions to function as an independent institution.